FIND ANSWERS TO FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

F.A.Q.

Question 1


MOISTURE ON GLASS

I notice that for some time there has been condensation in my windows. What can I do to fix the problem?

Answer 1

Attention should be paid to the ambient humidity or the aeration of the rooms. In winter, the indoor humidity should not be higher than 40%. It is also suggested to remove mosquito nets, in winter and open the blinds, canvas or curtains to facilitate efficient air circulation. Moreover, if the condensation appears between the two panes of a sealed glass, then this is a problem of loosening. It will be necessary to replace the defective glass, see guarantee charter.

For more information:
http://www.robover.ca/eng/faq.html

Question 2


UV RAYS 

What is the potential reduction of transmission of ultraviolet (UV) energy with Low-E glass?

Answer 2

Reduction in UV transmission depends on the Low-E coating used and the construction of the insulating glazing (glass thickness, type of glass, etc.).

Contact us so we can provide you with detailed information.

Question 3


BROKEN GLASS THERMAL

What do we mean when we talk about thermal breakage of glass?

 

Answer 3

The glass expands when heated. The frame that retains the glazing insulating the cover of the thermal radiation that comes from the sun or the interior of the house. For this reason the center of the glazing is warmer than the edge. This temperature difference causes a greater expansion at the center than at the edge of the glass, which causes a tension stress. Glass normally resists these stresses, but it can happen that for special reasons there is glass breakage. In these cases, the manufacturing quality of the insulating glazing could not be called into question.

Question 4


BROKEN GLASS THERMAL

What is the cause of the thermal breaks?

Answer 4

The thermal shock breaks result from stresses generated by a variation in temperature between two zones of the same sheet of glass. This variation may, for example, be established between a part of the window exposed to the rays of the sun and a shaded area.

Question 5


ESTIMATE 

What is the best way to get a quote for my construction or renovation project?

 

Answer 5

You can go directly to a Solaris (Quebec, Brossard, Boisbriand and Gatineau) sales places, contact us by phone or e-mail us.

Thereafter, a counselor will make an appointment with you, our offices to give you advice and make a free estimate.

 

Question 6


ESTIMATE 

How to take approximate measurements for an evaluation?

 

Answer 6

RENOVATION

We suggest measuring doors and windows by taking measurements inside your interior frames. One detail that can be useful for the retailer is whether your doors and windows have a molding (woodwork) on the outside that bends their perimeter, as well as the depth required (from the further inside to the further outside).

NEW CONSTRUCTION Generally, the dimensions will be indicated on the plans of your new construction.

 

Question 7


ESTIMATE

What is the delivery time to be expected?

Answer 7

The delivery time is determined at the time of the order, according to the regions and the prearranged delivery schedules.

We can deliver doors and windows fast, on request, if our production capabilities allow.

Question 8


INSTALLATION OF NEW WINDOWS 

Is it preferable to install windows inside existing frames?

 

Answer 8

No, generally it is better not to install the new windows in the old frames already in place. This technique will reduce the size of your new window. Finally, it will require a multiple aluminum covering to conceal the old frames and the risk of water infiltration will increase.

 

Question 9


LOW-E GLASS

Will I notice a difference in the amount of light between my clear windows and my new Low-E windows?

 

Answer 9

You will notice a slight reduction in light intensity compared to your old windows. However, most people notice above all the increase in comfort. An insulating glass composed of Sungate® 400 transmits approximately 13% less visible light than the same clear glass and 10% less solar energy.

ONLINE QUOTE


Send us your quote request online. Our experts will be pleased to answer all your questions, whether for your new home or a renovation project.

SolarisAdvantage


Our personal counselling, our experience and our state-of-the-art products make Solaris Québec Portes et Fenêtres inc. a visionary company in the manufacture of doors and windows since 1972. Our only concern is to satisfy your needs and your expectations, whatever your project. Let your imagination run wild and make your dreams come true!

Peace of Mind


Our expert team ensures the peace of mind you deserve with our high-performance products, personal counselling and reliable warranties. Our quality / price ratio, the best in the industry, will convince you at all times. Come and see for yourself what has justified our excellent reputation for almost half a century!

TROUVEZ ICI LES RÉPONSES AUX QUESTIONS QUI NOUS SONT FRÉQUEMMENT DEMANDÉES

Foire aux questions

Question 1


HUMIDITÉ SUR LE VERRE

Je remarque que depuis quelque temps, il y a de la condensation dans mes fenêtres. Qu’est-ce que je peux faire pour régler le problème?

Réponse 1

L’attention doit se tourner sur le taux d’humidité ambiant et l’aération des pièces. L’hiver, le taux d’humidité intérieur devrait osciller entre 25% et 30% selon la température extérieure. Il est également suggéré d’enlever les moustiquaires l’hiver et d’ouvrir les stores, les toiles ou les rideaux pour faciliter une circulation efficace de l’air. Par ailleurs, si la condensation apparaît entre les 2 vitres d’un verre scellé, il s’agit alors d’un problème de descellement. Il faudra alors remplacer le verre défectueux.

Pour en savoir plus:  http://www.robover.ca/fra/faq.html#condensation

Question 2


RAYONS UV

Quelle est la réduction potentielle de transmission d’énergie ultraviolette (UV) avec du verre Low-E?

Réponse 2

La réduction de transmission de rayons UV dépend de l’enduit Low-E utilisé et de la construction du vitrage isolant (épaisseur de verre, type de verre, etc.).

Contactez-nous afin que nous puissions vous fournir de l’information détaillée.

Question 3


BRIS THERMIQUE DU VERRE

Que veut-on dire lorsqu’on parle d’un bris thermique du verre?

Réponse 3

Le verre se dilate lorsqu’il est chauffé. Le cadre qui retient le vitrage isolant le cache du rayonnement thermique qui vient du soleil ou de l’intérieur de la maison. Pour cette raison, le centre du vitrage est plus chaud que le bord. Cette différence de température entraîne une plus grande dilatation au centre qu’au bord du verre, ce qui cause une contrainte de tension. Normalement le verre résiste à ces contraintes, mais il peut arriver que pour des raisons particulières il y ait bris de verre. Dans ces cas, la qualité de fabrication du vitrage isolant ne pourrait être mise en cause.

Question 4


BRIS THERMIQUE DU VERRE

Qu’elle est la cause des bris thermiques?

Réponse 4

Les bris par choc thermique résultent de contraintes générées par une variation de température entre deux zones d’une même feuille de verre. Cette variation peut, par exemple, s’établir entre une partie de vitrage exposée aux rayons du soleil et une zone ombragée.

Question 5


ESTIMATION

Quel est le meilleur moyen d’obtenir une soumission pour mon projet de construction ou de rénovation?

Réponse 5

Vous pouvez vous rendre directement à un point de vente Solaris (Québec, Brossard, Boisbriand et Gatineau), nous contacter par téléphone ou nous écrire par courriel.

Par la suite, un conseiller prendra rendez-vous avec vous à nos bureaux pour vous donner des conseils et effectuer une estimation gratuite.

Question 6


ESTIMATION

Comment prendre les mesures approximatives pour une évaluation?

Réponse 6

RÉNOVATION
Nous vous suggérons de mesurer les portes et fenêtres en prenant la mesure à l’intérieur de vos cadrages intérieurs. Un détail qui peut être utile pour Solaris est de savoir si vos portes et fenêtres ont une moulure (boisure) à l’extérieur qui sont aux périmètres de la fenêtre ainsi que la profondeur (de l’extérieur à l’intérieur).

NOUVELLE CONSTRUCTION
Généralement, les dimensions seront indiquées sur les plans de votre nouvelle construction.

Question 7


ESTIMATION

Quels sont les délais de livraison à prévoir?

Réponse 7

Les délais de livraison sont établis au moment de la commande, selon les régions et les horaires de livraison préétablis. Nous pouvons livrer les portes et fenêtres de façon accélérée, sur demande, si nos capacités de production le permettent.

Question 8


INSTALLATION DE NOUVELLES FENÊTRES

Est-il préférable d’effectuer l’installation des fenêtres à l’intérieur des cadres existants?

Réponse 8

Non, il est préférable de ne pas installer les nouvelles fenêtres dans les anciens cadres déjà en place. Cette technique réduira la dimension de votre nouvelle fenêtre, sans compter que l’isolation entre l’ancien cadre et la structure de la maison ne sera pas contrôlé. Finalement, elle nécessitera un recouvrement d’aluminium pour dissimuler les anciens cadres et le risque d’infiltration d’eau augmentera.

Question 9


VERRE LOW-E

Vais-je remarquer une différence dans la quantité de lumière entre mes fenêtres claires et mes nouvelles fenêtres Low-E?

Réponse 9

Vous remarquerez une légère réduction de l’intensité lumineuse comparativement à vos anciennes fenêtres. Cependant, la plupart des gens remarquent surtout l’augmentation du confort. Un vitrage isolant composé de SungateMD 400 transmet approximativement 13 % moins de lumière visible que le même vitrage clair et 10 % moins d’apports solaires.

Soumission en ligne


Faites-nous parvenir votre demande de soumission en ligne. Nos experts se feront un plaisir de répondre à toutes vos questions, que ce soit pour votre nouvelle demeure ou un projet de rénovation.

L'AvantageSolaris


Notre service personnalisé, notre expérience et nos produits à la fine pointe de la technologie font de Solaris Québec Portes et Fenêtres inc. une entreprise visionnaire dans le domaine de la manufacture de portes et fenêtres depuis 1972. Notre seul souci est de satisfaire vos besoins et vos attentes, quel que soit votre projet. Laissez libre cours à votre imagination et concrétisez vos rêves!

Ayez l'esprit Tranquille


Notre équipe d’experts vous assure la tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez grâce à nos produits performants, nos services spécialisés et nos garanties fiables. Notre rapport qualité/prix, le meilleur de l’industrie, vous convaincra à tout coup. Venez constater par vous-même ce qui justifie notre excellente réputation depuis près d’un demi-siècle!

© Solaris Québec Portes et Fenêtres inc. 2016. Tous droits réservés.